the grammy’s aren’t the oscars –

LL Cool J is one hot stepper in his velvet tux and newsboy. I dig it.

that’s why i love them so much.

The Grammy’s are not about haute couture. No, they’re about wearing something outrageous, something creative, something that speaks to the musical destiny of the night. It is a night for no holds barred and I love it.

This year was more subdued than others. No Gaga jumping out of fiber casted eggs the size of a small home. No, there was a clear understanding after yesterday’s news that the 54th Grammy Award show would be free of that kind of ridiculousness.

LL Cool J honestly couldn’t be any cuter. I mean, look at this guy in his black velvet tuxedo with newsboy cap in tow. He’s so fly, it’s hard to take sometimes. And the performances… the performances kill me every time. So much talent, so much wonder of how next year could ever top this year’s array of musical skill. Bruno Mars in a metallic gold jacket, pants tapered tight around his ankle and some black, patent tie ups — kind of on hit, no? Did he just do the splits? Um, yes.

SING IT, B. YOU'RE SO CUTE I WANT TO PICK YOU UP AND PUT YOU IN MY POCKET.

The very real pall of loss over what was surely R&B’s greatest star EVER, led to many tributes on the big screen, comments during award acceptance speeches, red carpet interview references and homages of the clothing variety and all for the beautiful, Whitney Houston.

THE LEGEND FILLED THE SCREEN AND REMINDED US ALL OF WHAT REAL TALENT IS...

And since we just mentioned red carpet, this one falls into my absolute obsession category… LOVE me some Kings of Leon and how adorbs is Caleb’s pregnant wife, Lily Aldridge? Perfect in every way. The boys looked pretty amazing in their “pencil suits” and the glasses are so chic and so on trend right now. I can’t get enough of this group.

Adele was simply stunning in a black, glitterfied Armani floor-length gown. She is so hot for so many reasons. The fact that she could care less what we all think and yet exudes a sex appeal, a confidence and a voice that could slay us all.

ADELE WILL TAKE HOME MANY AWARDS IN HER LIFETIME, BUT SISTER SHOULD GET BEST DRESSED. HAIR/MAKEUP, IT'S ALL AMAZING.

So many people to comment on… Chris Brown had an amazing performance and well, somewhat of a comeback, no? Almost awkward to like it after the Rhi Rhi abuse debacle? He’s still one of our most talented hip hop singers and dancers right now… so whatcha gonna do?

SOMEBODY HAS HAD A COMEBACK. LET'S KEEP OUR PUNCHES TO A MINIMUM, SHALL WE, CHRIS B? YOU ARE STILL ONE OF MY FAVE PERFORMERS EVER.

Fergie was fergi-licious in her red lace cutout dress. I actually liked that she decided to go so bold. The red was stunning on her and those hoops? I mean, I’m so sporting this look. Slicked ponytail, nude lips and a serious spray tan. Girlfriend was looking pretty fly.

FERGIE IN A FLOOR LENGTH, SHEER LACE-CUTOUT RED DRESS. AMAZE! OH AND THERE'S MARC ANTHONY. EGAD. NOT SO MUCH.

 

If Chris Brown performed, you better bet your bottom dollar, Rhianna was hitting that stage, too. After all, gossipers report they’re rendezvousing now and again. Really? I can’t hardly stand hearing that, but I digress… she looked unbelievably hot in her custom made Armani gown with sheer overlay. Plunging neckline and high slit at the skirt, girl’s got a body for days. You know what I always say, you might as well shake what your mama gave ya.

RHI RHI SEEMED TO MAKE A FRIEND. HOW COULD SHE NOT IN THIS GET UP?

Then there was the sweet country/pop princess that my daughters just can’t get enough of, Taylor Swift. D-IVINE in her Zuhair Murad mermaid gown. The neutral colors suit her quite well, I must say, and how refreshing to see her in something that doesn’t scream “bubble gum.” High bun? Take note. This is all glam. Love it.

HI JAKE GYLENHALL, REMEMBER ME? YOU CAN CLOSE YOUR MOUTH NOW.

Not sure who made Malin Ackerman’s dress, but can I please get an exact replica? It’s so cute, I can’t even take it.

MALIN AND THE MYSTIC CATS IS AN ACTUAL BAND THAT SHE SINGS IN. I LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY.

Adam Levine and his hot, very young girlfriend, looked pretty hot to trot on the red carpet. Loved his striped shirt and deep blue, almost iridescent tie. Her dress is so va-voom, I almost had to cover my eyes. Slit’s a bit high, but it is the Grammy’s, people.

I DON'T KNOW, ANNE V MAY HAVE SHOWN MR. LEVINE UP?

Loved Gwynnie’s Stella McCartney black, cutout dress. The sleek ponytail (see a trend here?) and the lack of jewelry gave her a clean, chic look that I can’t get enough of…

JUST YES.

This is just because she makes me crazy with her antics. I am so tired of these get ups. Honestly. I think she’s so very talented, don’t get me wrong. I enjoy her music thoroughly. I just can’t take another weird mask. Really, I can’t… Mama’s about to go cray cray.

I UNDERSTAND THIS LOOK WAS ACTUALLY QUITE TAME, BUT I'M SO OVER IT. FISHNETS WERE SO LAST SEASON! 😉

Okay, that’s all I’ve got in me this evening. And let’s be honest, tonight’s not about the clothes. It’s about the music. It always has been and let’s keep it that way, shall we? I won’t even begin on Nicki Minaj or Katy Perry and her matching dress and hair (oh sweet baby J, no). Russell Brand is probably giggling in his uber tight leather skinny pants all the way home.

– sister

About sister | brother

sister | brother
This entry was posted in sister | brother and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

