now that’s style

mother chukka

I’ve been resisting the chukka for some time now. I always thought they seemed a bit like the kind of shoe Urban Jesus would wear. You know, like a modern version of the moccasin for people who have to avoid urban sludge and homeless “specialness”. Suddenly I realized that I am exactly the kind of person who has to avoid urban sludge and specialness – and that I would rather enjoy a shoe that offers the comfort and homespun style of a moccasin with the protection and structure of a boot. Call it my Mother Chukka epiphany.

Cole Haan – $228.00

So naturally I went out and bought the Cole Haan numbers you see above. Nice and simple and let me tell you – COMFORTABLE. I mean, I wear a lot of boots. I like the little lift and that John Wayne confidence they give me. Never have I felt the combination of boot confidence and slipper comfort. These things rock. I sported them today with heavy gauge denim by G-star with the cuff rolled just a bit to show off the mid-top height. The things are killer. Below are a few different styles I’m digging with links to where to buy. Consider it a chukka challenge.

– brother

Clarks – $109.95

Common Projects $380.00

Varvatos – $198.00

 

About sister | brother

sister | brother
This entry was posted in sister | brother and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

