i’ve got a furry feeling about this

and I’m not the only one… 

I struggle with fur. On one hand I think that the look is truly the height of luxury and one of the most comfortable and fashionable trends of all time. On the other I have seen the thousands of videos on youtube depicting horrible examples of inhumane treatment of animals all in the name of capital F fashion. It makes me sick. With that being said, I am a meat eater. I wear leather shoes and belts and am not necessarily ready to just give up my carnivorous ways, even if my heart hurts a little bit every time that damn Sara McLaughlin song comes on the Peta commercial. SO, like I said, I struggle with fur.

This post is in no way an endorsement of the manufacturing of new fur products, and I certainly hope that these major brands showcasing fur in their lines are at the very least harvesting the product in a humane way. As it is my responsibility to report the fashion “news” I have to tell you that this is a trend that is running down every runway from new york to milan and doesn’t seem to be slowing down. Whether it’s vintage fur or fox collared puff jackets, men are rocking fur again and basking in all it’s luxurious and guilty pleasure. It should be noted that many options are available at your local department stores in Faux furs and sheerling and should be strongly considered, if not for their style than at least for their drastically lower prices. I do think the look is rather sexy, faux or not. Whether or not the donning of fur is ethical is a question I’ll let you answer yourself. In the meantime, check out the styles that have spawned this conversation anew below.

-brother

100% Coyote by Dolce & Gabbana

Rabbit Fur Collar – by Burberry Prorsum

Rabbit Vest – by Michael Kors

Faux Fur Down Jacket – by D&G

Blue Lambskin Coat with Sheerling Collar – by Lanvin

Lamb Fur reversible Vest – by Maison Martin Margiela

Rabbit Fur Flight Jacket – by Mastermind Japan

About sister | brother

sister | brother
This entry was posted in sister | brother and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

